Beginning Blacksmithing Classes

 

Beginning Blacksmithing classes are designed to give you basic instruction on correct hammer control, basic fire maintenance, and the most commonly used blacksmithing processes; drawing a taper, bending, and twisting. Anyone with reasonable eye/hand coordination can handle this without prerequisite knowledge.

Basic Bladesmithing also focuses on hammer control and fire maintenance, as well as an overview of heat treatment. There is greater precision involved in making a good knife, and you will do better in this class if you already have some hammer control, and a little practice under your belt.

Being a complete newbie won’t stop you from understanding the class material, or creating a functional knife. But it’s harder for a beginner with no experience to forge a blade that is smooth enough not to require extensive grinding to finish. If you can routinely drive a nail without making hammer marks in the wood you drive the nail into, you should be fine in this class.

^^^Did you read this? If not, please read this^^^

Upcoming Class Dates

Basic Bladesmithing
Monday, May 21, 2018

(at posting, there are two class spaces open)


Name of Student


*********************************************************************************************************************

Beginning Blacksmithing
Sunday, March 4, 2018

SOLD OUT

________________________________________________________________________________________________


Past Class Dates:

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018 (bladesmithing)

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Saturday, February 10,2018 (bladesmithing)

Saturday, January 27, 2018

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Sunday, December 17, 2017 (chainmaking)

Saturday, December 9, 2017

Saturday, November 18, 2017 (tongs)

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Saturday, November 11, 2017 (tongs)

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Saturday, October 9, 2017

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Saturday, September 16, 2017–rescheduled due to Irma

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Saturday, August 5, 2017

Saturday, July 29, 2017

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Saturday, June 10, 2017

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Saturday, 22 April, 2017

Saturday, 11 March, 2017

Saturday 25 February, 2017

Saturday 7 January, 2017  – Beginning Blacksmithing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday, 11 December, 2016 – Beginning Blacksmithing

devin-threatsadam-steelealgen-albritton

 

img_1068img_1067

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday 19 November, 2016 – Beginning Blacksmithing

beginning blacksmith class near Orlando

img_0989

 

 

img_1008

1

2